Boundaries

bound·a·ry
ˈbound(ə)rē/Submit
noun
plural noun: boundaries
a line that marks the limits of an area; a dividing line.

This has been a BIG word in my life lately. I didn’t choose a word for 2016 like I usually do so I think I will choose this one for the 2nd half of the year.

This is a hard word for a lot of people and something I have always struggled with. I am a people pleaser and a fixer. So for me there were no boundaries in certain areas of my life. But as I got older and started dealing with my own life experiences, trials, struggles,and just life in general, I had to set them. Not only for myself but for those around me. I am by no means perfect and I will most likely struggle with different things til my time on earth is over. But, I also have to be smart and trust the Lord to handle things. And that requires boundaries.

I am reading a booked many of you may have heard called “Boundaries” by Henry Cloud. I usually can read a book in no time but this one takes some time. There is so much truth in it and I just want to soak it all in. Last night I was reading about the Law Of Sowing and Reaping. This really jumped out at me. We all know we reap what we sow but if we don’t have boundaries with those we are in relationships with we start reaping what others sow and they don’t reap anything bc we are bailing them out at every turn. WOW! I started thinking about Hudson and how things will be down the road. At some point he will have to learn some responsibility and I cannot always be bailing him out. For example if he keeps forgetting his homework at home or forgets to bring it home at some point I will have to stop taking it to him or going back for it. He will have to suffer the consequences of his mistake. One day when he is in high school and asks for money for something if he blows that on something else he will have to learn about budgeting and that mom isn’t always going to come running with an open wallet. NOT GONNA HAPPEN! LOL There are just some small example but none the less you get the idea. It starts with us-the parents. We have to teach our children in the way of the Lord and we have to set healthy boundaries so when our kids grow up they will learnt to set healthy boundaries too.

Y’all with me? More to come on boundaries!

 

xoxo,

Mama T

 

 

Leave a Reply

