But the greatest of these is love…

I love Mother Teresa for many reasons. Her giving heart. Her selflessness. Her love for others. I went searching through some of her quotes today looking for a bit of inspiration and most of what I read took me back to love. Most of her quotes have to do with loving others. And when you take a look at her life I think she is walking her talk. At my wedding I had my friend Marc read 1 Corinthians 13. I love this passage but one of my favorite parts is verse 13 where it says, “So now faith, hope and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” (ESV) Jesus was all about love and he wanted (wants) us to be all about love too. All day today I was thinking about loving those around me and asking myself if I showed love while I was out running errands. Whether it be a simple smile, a hello, paying for someone’s meal or coffee. Did I show love the way Jesus would show love? Or was I too wrapped up in my own agenda to take the time and show some love? This theme has been all around me for a few weeks now. The series at church has been on love, and so many conversations, devotions, and searching has led me back to the same thing. Love, love, love. If Jesus says the greatest of these is love then it must be a big deal to him and for that reason I want to show as much love as I can.

Here are a few quotes I wanted to share:

We think sometimes that poverty is only being hungry, naked and homeless. The poverty of being unwanted, unloved and uncared for is the greatest poverty. We must start in our own homes to remedy this kind of poverty.
~Mother Teresa

Love begins at home, and it is not how much we do… but how much love we put in that action.
~Mother Teresa

I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.
~Mother Teresa

I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.
~Mother Teresa

I can only wish to be half the woman Mother Teresa was. What a role model. Thankful for her life and legacy.

xoxo,
LL

Leave a Reply

