Those Moments

I just finished reading “Moment Maker” by Carlos Whittaker and it was amazing! It talks about making the most of moments, not missing a chance for a moment, and being intentional about moment making. While reading this our series in church has been to “Love Where You Are.” I found this to go hand in hand. Especially today when I finished reading the book and the message at church was on the same page. Carlos talked at the end of his book about a homeless man he had a moment with. When saying goodbye to the guy he told him, “Keep trying to make it, man. You keep trying to make it. Okay?” The guy looked at him kinda funny and said to him “…I am making it. Jah (Jesus) puts his soldiers everywhere. Jah says, ‘Yea though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death’…so he places some of us in the valley.” This his Carlos. He said the ones trying to make it are the ones with the white picket fences, minivans, and savings accounts. The homeless guy has nothing. So all he has is Jesus. He’s the one living the life bc he gets it. This hit me in a special way. With several missions trips under my belt and seeing everything from homeless people to a man who has been on his death bed for years and is still praising Jesus from his bed everyday, I thought I got it too. But, it’s so easy to forget about all of that when you go home. When you’re in the comfort of your own home, snuggled up in your warm bed, enjoying all the food you could ever want. And then we go to church and today’s message was on loving where you are and you are here. Dave talked about embracing the moments and not just letting life pass you by. God has put us where we are for a reason. Our jobs, our homes, our neighbors, our relatives…they are all where we are and we need be paying attention to what is happening around us. God wants to use us, all of us, right where we are. This was a huge reminder for me. I am constantly on the go, staying super busy, and I am always going from A to B. My mind is always going from one thing to the next without much time for a break in the middle. So for me to stop and take the time to make a moment, to chat with someone, to reach out to someone in need seems like a big inconvenience. And that is actually pretty awful of me. LOL It takes me back to one of my words, intentional. I need to be more intentional about making moments. I need to take time everyday to love on those around me. I need to get out of my comfort zone and just put myself out there. I am thankful for this reminder today and I am going to make sure that I take the time daily to pay attention to what is going on around me. To love those around me, to reach out and help someone in need, to just say hello and make someone smile. We never know what is going on in the lives of those around us. So always try and reach out and touch someone.

Will you be a moment maker today?

xoxo,
Travelin’ Tiffany

Leave a Reply

