Work Is To Be Our Worship

I was reminded of something last night when I was sitting in church. We are in the 2nd week of a series called “Love Where You Are” and this weekend is “Love Where You Work.” And it doesn’t mean to love your job lol but to show love to the people you work with. Kyle shared a story about a guy he walked by whistling “This is the day the Lord has made” while he was cleaning out porta-potties. When he asked the guy about it the guy told him he used to hate his job until he realized his job was supposed to be his worship. This took me back to the place when I decided that my job was ministry years ago. I remember wanting to be in the ministry so bad and praying God would bring something my way. I knew I had been called but my calling came different. I was right where I was supposed to be by being a hairstylist. God wanted to used me in my own field with my talents and gifts to reach people. Once I got that through my thick skull, my world changed. The way I did hair, the way I interacted with people, the way I ran my business was all based on that mindset. And this weekend I was reminded of that. I think I had forgotten about that. Ever since moving I have been discouraged and down a bit. Starting your business over in a new city in this field is one of the hardest things I have ever done. But this week I am going to start approaching like I used too. I know God has brought me to this place for a reason and a purpose and how dare I waste that. Thankful for this reminded today.

What about you? What’s your ministry? Is your work your worship?

xoxo,
Travelin’ Tiffany

Leave a Reply

