To Reconcile

Imagine two friends who have a fight or argument. The good relationship they once enjoyed is strained to the point of breaking. They cease speaking to each other; communication is deemed too awkward. The friends gradually become strangers. Such estrangement can only be reversed by reconciliation. To be reconciled is to be restored to friendship or harmony. When old friends resolve their differences and restore their relationship, reconciliation has occurred. Second Corinthians 5:18-19 declares, “All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.”

Read more: http://www.gotquestions.org/reconciliation.html#ixzz34oreGH3i

A few weeks ago I blogged about losing a best friend. Outside of my breakup last year it was one of the hardest things I have ever been through. It hurt my heart beyond anything I could imagine. I didn’t know if reconciling was ever going to be possible for us. I know that God calls us to forgive, but reconciling too? Yes, reconciling too.

I feel The Lord speaking to me so much lately. More then ever in my life. I feel like I have had a few reoccurring themes. Obedience, even when things do not make sense and seem crazy to me or others, faith, and rest. These things have constantly flooded over me in the last few weeks and months.

So this reconciliation thing seemed like one of impossibility. After being so hurt how could things ever be ok again? I believe that with God ALL things are possible. Not just a few but all. But, I’m not very good at proving that I believe this all the time but I do deep down in my heart. I also believe that everything happens for a reason and you will always come out stronger then before. God has stretched me and grown me and taught me countless things over the last year + of my life. So for me NOT to reconcile would be direct disobedience to my God. How could I do that?

After trying to reach out a few times with no success I had to let it go. I told him that I had to let him go and he came back. That’s true love. There have been a lot of tough conversations, lots of tears, emotions, honesty, openness. All these things were needed for us to overcome one of the hardest things we had both experienced. He was family. He is family. If you can make it through those really tough times and come out better and stronger in the end it was worth every tear and hurtful word. And for us that is what happened. We were able to say things neither of us ever had in our 15 years of friendship. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. Even the bad stuff that could of been avoided because of a certain decision that was made. I have grown most from my struggles and we usually do.

After seeing him for the first time in over a year and a half a peace came over me. It was like a relief to finally be able to talk about it all face to face and to be honest and to move forward. We have no idea where this life will take us and it could all be gone tomorrow. Life is so short and we aren’t guaranteed anything except right now. I am so blessed and thankful to have him and Braxton back in my life. We will never be the same because of this but we will be stronger for it. God brings people into our lives for a reason and we may never know what they are but I do know I am never going to take that for granted again.

I decided to choose to believe the best. And he did see my heart and he realized how much I cared and loved him and Braxton. And I was able to see his heart and his hurts and his love. We came out on top. Together. Choosing to move forward and to be better.

So maybe today you need reconciliation. Don’t let another minute go by. Do what you need to do and do what you know is right. God’s plan is for us to live together in peace. Follow your heart even when it seems to be crazy to everyone else or even to yourself. Be open, honest, loving and share your heart. Always. Love God and love people.

xoxo,
Travelin’ Tiffany

IMG_4972

Leave a Reply

