Convicted By My Words

I have had an overwhelming feeling of conviction come over me today. It has to do with my words. I remember back in high school my youth pastor used to tell me how much he appreciated the fact that I kept to myself, I didn’t gossip, and I just really didn’t say much about people in general. Oh, how I wish this was true today! God has a funny way of working on me. Just out of the blue this morning in my quiet time I felt so guilty over some things that I had said. Once I started thinking about that and laying it at the feet of Jesus more and more kept flooding over me. I know what it’s like to have people talk about you behind your back, say mean things to your face or behind your back, and mistreat you. And here I am doing the very same things I am against. Doesn’t Paul say the same thing in one of the gospels? We do what we aren’t supposed to do and we don’t do what we are supposed to do. So all day I have been very aware of my words and the things I say and by 10:00 am I had already faced 3+ incidents to say something negative about someone or talk behind their back. I mean Satan has been on my back all freakin’ day!!! Remember the old saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me?” What a bunch of bull that is. We all know better then that. Words hurt. They pierce us deep down inside. We never forget the hurtful words people speak. That’s what we actually tend to hold onto is the hurt. I am here to publicly apologize to those I have hurt, said mean things too, talked behind your back, or done something else to hurt you. It was never intentional but there is NO excuse for that kind of behavior.  I ask for your accountability. If you ever hear me start to say anything negative about someone or something STOP me. LOL We all have bad days and yes, sometimes we need to vent, but there are right and wrong ways to handle this. The Bible says there is life or death in our words and I want to always give life. Always.

xoxo,

Travelin’ Tiffany

Leave a Reply

