Love

What is love?

Love to me is so many things and I don’t think I realized all the things it meant to me until the last few years of my crazy life. For the longest time I just thought love was this crazy awesome feeling that came and went. But that couldn’t be further from what it actually is. Sometimes I don’t FEEL like loving…anybody! But, just bc I don’t “feel” it doesn’t mean I don’t love them or myself. But, love is a hard thing. We get all tangled up in what it should feel like, look like, be like. And Hollywood does a pretty good job at twisting our view of things. But, when it comes right down to it, love is hard. Love is commitment. Love is effort. Love is not giving up. Love is patient.  Love is precious. Love is tender. Love is time. Love sustains when all else fails. 

I’ve never been a Valentine’s Day fan and I’m ok with that. I feel like you should show the one you love throughout the year and not be told on one particular day you have to do something special for them. I had some plans tonight and I ended up not making it. But, as I sit here alone in my apartment watching Dawson’s Creek reruns on DVD and enjoying the smell of chili in the crockpot, I smile. Because I know I am loved. I smile because someone special that I love with all my heart spent $19.99 on making sure my Valentine’s Day card arrived on time. I smile bc I talked to my great aunt, gramps, and uncle today and got to tell them how much I loved them and to hear how much they love me. I smile bc I got to be on speaker phone with mama and Leemo and wish them a Happy Valentine’s Day and a happy 10 year anniversary weekend. I smile bc I got breakfast from one of my fav clients and a sweet card and cookies from another. And I got to enjoy lunch with “my Valentine” coworker. And last but not least I smile bc I know I am loved by my Jesus. When all else fails he is there. I realize that love surrounds me everyday and I am so blessed. I am so thankful for all the love I get to give and receive. I am so full today. 

 

So what is love to you?

Love to me is so much more then a feeling. It’s an action. Its commitment. It’s unconditional. It’s always and forever with all your heart.

xoxo, 
Travelin’ Tiffany

 

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

