Words of Affirmation

I’ve read the infamous book “The 5 Love Languages” and taken countless tests on what my love languages are. But not until recently has it come to my attention how much words affect me and how much I rely on them. I’m beginning to think that our love languages can change as we grow and change. I’ve never been one to like much attention on myself and never enjoyed receiving compliments. As I have gotten older I’ve realized that by not accepting compliments is actually pretty rude and hurts the person giving you the compliment. So, I’ve gotten better about accepting them. I’ve been the one giving the compliments and when the person doesn’t receive it well, it does bother me. And I think to myself, “I wish they would just say thank you.” Yesterday I was spending time with my very first boss from when I started doing hair. I was just sharing life and what was going on and she paid me one of the best compliments I could ask for. She told me this was the happiest she had seen me but also the biggest thing she could tell was the I have intentional eye contact now. She told me I used to be fidgety and moving around and never looking others in the eye. But now I do. And many don’t know this but it has been something I’ve known about myself and I’m so glad that someone has seen improvement bc that’s what I wanted. I walked away on cloud 9! Words are precious things that can bring death or life to yourself or those around you. So please friends be careful with what you say. You never know how you might be affecting someone. Show love and give encouragement always.

Xoxo,
Travelin’ Tiffany

Kind words bring life, but cruel words crush your spirit. (Proverbs 15:4 GNTD)

Leave a Reply

