‘Tis The Season

The older I get the less magical Christmas seems. I thoroughly enjoy following my friends on Facebook and Instagram who are doing the whole Elf on the Shelf thing and sharing his latest adventures. It takes me back to that magical place for just a second. And then I decided to brave Target last night. Don’t even bother asking me why. I am minding my own business wandering around the shoe section when all of a sudden I year this women just yell. I even said out loud, “Geez, ” bc it just seems so inappropriate. And then I see her. She is try pregnant, in flip flops, tank top, and shorts (appropriate for December in Savannah) and she was walking with an older man pushing a cart with something big in the cart and a child hanging off the back. I just thought to myself how awful this seemed for those kids and that poor man. Then I opened my mouth. Which takes a lot and it’s not something I often do. But I told her that she was being very inappropriate and needed to calm down. She proceeded to cuss me out. I just continued on my way but oh no here she came out of nowhere. She was in my face cussing at me and telling me how she was 9  months pregnant and I had no idea what was going on in her life. I just stood there calmly letting her vent and just told her that I understood all of that but she still didn’t need to be acting the way she was in Target. Some kind man approached me with his child and asked me to help him find some shoes for his wife as an attempt to rescue me from this crazy nut job. I proceeded to tell the staff at Target about her and then the poor old man tracked me down to apologize. I thought this whole thing was kind of funny, crazy, random, wrong, and sad all at the same time. She was right, that I had no idea what was going on in her life. But no matter what is going on in our lives it doesn’t give us the right to be crazy and treat others badly. We like to blame our actions on “what’s going on” when we just need to shut up and take responsibility for our lives. It made me sad bc she was missing the point. Christmas isn’t about things. We have it all wrong. We always see the worst in people this time of year. This is supposed to be a happy, joyous time. Celebrating the birth of Jesus. I hope that as you go through the next week of shopping, family, events, presents, food, travel, dealing with “that” family member, that you will just stop for one second and remember what it’s really all about. 

xoxo, 

Travelin’ Tiffany

Leave a Reply

