A Better You

Savannah is actually a really small town. If I have learned anything here, it’s that. It’s a very cliquey city and it’s all about who you know. It’s been a change for me. I am used to knowing everyone and never being able to go anywhere without seeing someone I knew. I was actually very thankful for this when I first came here. It was a fresh start. But, after being here for 6+ years that has changed a little bit. Being a smaller community you hear about EVERYTHING. From things you really want to know to things you could care less about and really don’t want to hear. It’s tough hearing things about people you once cared about. It’s really hard not to wallow in someone else’s misery and down fall when they have hurt you. It breaks my heart to see someone who has such great potential go spiraling downward and not even realize it. It’s really hard to keep your mouth shut and not say, “I told you so,” or “What the hell are you thinking?” I know I have made PLENTY of mistakes and many of my friends and family have probably thought the same things about me at one point in time. LOL I’ve even looked back at decisions I’ve made or different things I have been through and been like, “WTF?!?!?!?!” LOL I am sure we all have at one point in time. I do know that I am thankful and grateful everyday for hard stuff, the good stuff, the bad stuff. I am thankful that I am in a good place right now. I have great friends, family, an awesome job doing what I love and I get to travel and see the world. But sometimes I can’t help but look back and be a little saddened by what I see. My hope and prayer for myself is that I become a better person everyday due to life experiences. I want to be able to take the things that I have been through and that have happened to me and use them for the good. To help others, to remind myself of how great God is and how amazing his grace is. I pray that I never become someone I don’t want to be. I pray that I never become bitter and unforgiving and I pray that I never spiral downward away from everything that I know is right. I am thankful tonight that all the things I have been through have made me stronger. I can only hope and pray that those who have been in my life and no longer are will walk away better for knowing me too. That they will remember the good I brought to them and they will want to be the best them that they can. God is good. And sometimes he brings people into our lives for a season. I am blessed by the different seasons of my life and the people God has so graciously given to me for such a time as this. I wouldn’t be who I am today without the influence of some great people. No matter where we go from here the next chapter will bring laughter, tears, good, bad, ugly, sad, happy, joy, and love. We will experience new people, things, places. But never lose who you are and never stop striving to be the best you. Never. We each have so much to give and someone out there is waiting to receive it from us. Don’t miss the opportunities that come your way. Life is too short. And never wallow in someone else’s bad choices. Because one day it could be you. 

 

Leave a Reply

