Let’s Be Honest

When I moved to Savannah in 2007 I was looking for a fresh start. I had never moved away before and I was ready for a new adventure. I was ready to leave my past behind and head into greater things. I couldn’t wait to meet new people, experience new things, and get healing. It was a great feeling to come to a place where NO ONE knew me. I grew up in the same place and had been there for 25 years. I couldn’t go ANYWHERE without seeing someone I knew. I remember my mom telling me that I didn’t have to tell anyone about my divorce or anything I else in my past. I could start all over. I never really liked that idea and I really struggled with it for a while. I did want a fresh start. I didn’t want to be labeled by my past. Over the last 6 months I have been more open and honest about my life, my struggles, my hurts, my fears, my happiness, my joy then I ever have been. And honestly, I am the happiest I have ever been. I don’t hide who I am. Ok, maybe a little bit still, but I am working on it haha. I am learning that there is so much freedom in talking about your struggles and where you come from. Yes, I do check the divorced box when asked, and yes I come from a long line of divorce, abuse, heartache, and struggle. But, I am proud of where I come from. It has made me who I am and has taught me that without Jesus I couldn’t do this thing. I just started reading a new book called, “Let Hope In,” by Pete Wilson. I just finished the chapter on this topic earlier this evening and had a conversation with a client about it this afternoon. She said to me how awesome she thought it was that I could be so open and honest about who I am and the things I struggle with. In Pete’s book he talks about the freedom that comes with this. He also says, ” If we want to heal, we need to be honest with God and ourselves and each other.” He also says, ” As David said in the Psalms, until he dealt with the problem of guilt and sin in his life, all the other stuff he was doing-including being the king of Isreal- was really quite pointless.” WOW! This blew me away. I want continued healing. I want to be open and honest. I want to help others experience the joy and freedom that I now experience bc of my openness. I don’t write this blog to brag. I write this blog bc I want you to see me. I want you to see my heart. I want you to see that it’s ok to struggle. I want you to see that I am normal. I want you to see that I get pissed, happy, sad, cry, laugh and all those other many emotions we experience in life. If I can reach just one person through this then it makes it all worth while. If I can reach freedom in Christ by laying it all out there for the world to see then I will do it everyday. I am so thankful for the community that has been built around me by bringing my heart to the table. I have met some great women and I have strengthened friendships that I already had. I am so thankful that I didn’t miss out on the amazing community that is around me by keeping my mouth shut. There is so much healing that has happened in the last 6 months. It’s been hard. And it has hurt. And some days I didn’t think I could take much more. But, God is good. He wants us to be free. Don’t you want to taste that freedom with me? 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

