I did it!-A 1/2 Marathon Blog

1 Corinthians 9:24-27

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one get the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly;I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize. 

Yesterday I ran the Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon here in Savannah. It was my first. And as I used to say my last, but now I am not so sure. I had trained off and on for this since the summer. I am NOT a runner at all and never thought I would see myself running more then a 5k. But, it’s pretty crazy was breakups will do for a girl. I set this crazy goal to run the 1/2. I had ran up to 10 miles as of about 3-4 weeks ago. I slacked off due to traveling and life. As the day approached I was pretty nervous. Not so sure how well I was gonna do. One of my awesome clients, Amber, asked me to run with her and her girlfriend. I was pretty excited about that. We had all trained around the same intervals. 4 minute run 2 minute walk. So I knew we would be ok together. Surprisingly, we started out great! I was actually very surprised at how good I felt. We stopped after the first mile to walk a minute. I didn’t really feel like I needed too and wanted to keep going (which is weird) but I thought I needed to pace myself. When we got to mile 3/4 I went off to the left and my friends went off to the right for some water and we got separated. I never did see them after that. It became this spiritual journey for me. I just started praying and asking God to help me. I kept thinking of my stepdad telling me I could run the whole thing if I just put my mind too it and how crazy I thought he was. HAHA But when I got to 10 miles in 1 hour and 47 minutes I was amazed. I hadn’t stopped at all. I just kept praying and pacing myself and staying focused. I wasn’t out of breath or even that hot and sweaty. LOL The last 3 miles definitely got a little tougher but I didn’t give up. I felt like if I stopped to walk I would be worse off. I could feel my legs cramping up some but not enough to stop and stretch. I knew I was so dang close I couldn’t give up. I was still in shock at my time. It was an amazing feeling to cross that line and see my mama! I grabbed some water and goodies and just wanted to sit down! Mama was dying to get a pic of me. I am sure you know how excited I was about that! LOL But I did it! I ran all but 1 minute of that race and I finished in 2:22! Ahhhh! All the glory goes to God. I could not have done it without Him. It really seems like an out of body experience. I can’t believe it was me! LOL As for running another, we will see about that one. But, I am pretty excited about checking that off my bucket list! What an amazing accomplishment for me. I am so glad I did it and I am paying for it today! But so worth it. Thank you all for the love and encouragement! It was a blast!

2 Timothy 4:7 

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 

 

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

