My Ole Kentucky Home

This week has been a week of goodbyes. Death comes in many forms. Something I have been learning so much of lately. A loss of a life, putting the past to rest, letting go of what could be. To be honest, I am completely exhausted from all the crazy emotions. As I sit in front of this computer, my head is pounding, my neck and shoulders are so tense, my heart is heavy, and my mind is everywhere but here. On my drive back from Kentucky yesterday I was praying and thanking God for my life. I love my life. Truly I do. It’s not perfect and some days are hard but I can honestly say that I absolutely love my life. Even in the midst of all the craziness. 

I had an old friend whose brother passed away on Sunday. I was heart broken for this family I was once close too. I made the trip to KY in hopes of attending the funeral. I unfortunately didn’t get to make it. I got in touch with my friend and let him know that I was praying and would continue too. I knew there was some purpose for my trip and I just didn’t know what it was. It was very last minute and no one really knew I was coming. I got to spend a lot of time with my family and my closest friends. I got to reconnect with a friend from a long time ago. It was nice. It was perfect. God showed up in so many little ways on my trip that I will never forget. Laughing with Jenny and Matt at Cracker Barrel, hearing gramps tell me stories of driving the bus, really getting to hear Markies heart, hugging grams, catching up about days past with Dan, seeing my sweet Aunt Audrey, treating Dad to lunch, and enjoying coffee and laughter with Pam at Starbucks. All of these moments were so special to me. Moments that I can never have back. Life is short. It’s so easy to take for granted. I’m glad I made this trip. I am glad I got to see God show up for me. I saw him all around me. The leaves changing, the smiling faces, the hugs, the laughter, the sadness. He was there. And I am so glad He allowed me to be in the middle of it all. 

Image

 

Image

 

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

