I believe

Day 17

What are your spiritual beliefs and how do they impact your relationships/relationship status?

I  have grown up in church my entire life, went to a private school for 10 years, and had an awesome Christian mother that raised me. I was saved at the age of 6 during Awana at Florence Baptist Temple. When I got into high school I was very involved in the youth group at FBT. I ended up leaving the private school my freshmen year and attending public. If it were not for the youth group I am sure I would be a lost soul. It was all that I had. I learned a lot about love, relationships, and the type of woman I should and wanted to be when it came to relationships. But honestly I haven’t done a very good job at it.

I am strong in my faith and desire to do what’s right. That’s not always easy or the case. I fail miserably on a daily basis. But my pastor always says, “go back.” So that’s what I do. Grace. Big word. I am thankful for grace. Bottom line for me right is plain and simple. I just want to do what’s right in God’s eyes. That’s all. I feel if I am doing my best at that then it will all fall into place that way God wants. 

I met my ex husband in the youth group. We were so young and should of waited. But we were in love. When that ended it threw me for a loop. I became so lost, insecure, and unsure of what was ahead. I didn’t depend on God the way I needed too and that caused even more heartache which resulted in more issues in my heart.

Since moving to Savannah I have changed a lot. God has used this place to do something amazing in me. I have an awesome church, a great women’s group, and many friends and family that support me. I wrote a list of what I wanted in someone back in 2008. It has non-negotiables as well as negotiables on it. I still struggle sometimes with sticking to the list but somehow I always end up going right back to it. I have learned and realized that compromising on the most important things is never the right thing. I want a Christian man. Someone who loves Jesus and is strong in their faith. And not just bc I am. I want someone who will walk this road with me and be my cheerleader. I want someone who will pray with me. I want someone who will pray for me. I want someone who will do mission work with me.

I am single right now. Now by choice, but initially not by choice at all. My heart was broken by someone very special to me. But, I now realize there was a bigger plan for both of us. And we needed to be separate to accomplish those plans. I know that God is directing each and every step of the way for me. Without his love, guidance, protection, patience, and gentle leading who knows where I might be. I believe I am meant to be with someone who shares my same desires and that is to be bring glory and honor to God in all we do. I believe the right person will wait for me and I will wait for them. I believe God is working in me and making me better for myself, for him, and for my future. I believe God works in mysterious ways. God is always working things together for my good no matter how bad things get. I want to share this life with someone who is on the same page as me and I believe God will honor that as long as I am seeking, listening, and waiting.

This is an awesome journey to be on. So glad you have joined in.

Leave a Reply

