I am the single woman

So last week a friend of mine told me about this Facebook like page “The Single Woman.” Maybe you have heard of it or maybe not… But of course I had to check it out. I am soaking up all I can right now as I am in this “waiting” period of the single life. I was really intrigued by what the page had to say so I downloaded the ladies new book. Let me just say that I read all but about 30 pages of that book on my flight from ATL-BOS this past Saturday. And I think I hilighted 99% of the book. 

The gist of the ladies story is she was about my age when she had her heart broken too. She was finding that there weren’t and aren’t many books on embracing the single life as a women. Most books out there are all about love, relationships, how to be and find the right person. And while all of those are pretty awesome I have to agree that us singles need something too. In today’s society it’s all about finding the right one. Do you know how exhausting that is? First of all most of what I am seeing are non-committal, unhappy, lonely people who are just trying to find someone to fill a void that will never be filled by lust, sex, one night stands, or “hanging out.” Let me just say I LOATHE the words “hanging out.” No one even knows what that means…I don’t like not knowing what’s going on. Anyways, back to my original thought here…In her book she talks about embracing the single life and how most of the time when we are sitting here wanting a relationship our married or taken friends are wishing they were single again like us. So there is envy on both sides. There are so many things we can’t do as married people and vice versa. We are all on this earth for a purpose and that purpose cannot be accomplished if we are in a relationship sometimes. Like this past weekend for example, I wanted to go to Boston because I had never been before. So I went. And it was the greatest trip! I didn’t have to answer to anyone. I just did my thing and had a BLAST. Had I been married or had other obligations I couldn’t of gone. What a bummer that would have been for me. Now I am not saying that being married is a bad thing! I want my happily ever after one day too. But, I am embracing this time alone. I have a list a mile long of things I want to do and see while I can. We are not guaranteed tomorrow and I want to live my life to the fullest. Whatever that may mean. We are all created for a purpose in life. And I believe we are to live out that purpose daily. And we get a new chance everyday to keep serving, loving and giving. When I was reading this book I began to feel very empowered. Like I could conquer the world! I know that God is preparing me for bigger and better and I am enjoying this journey He has me on. I don’t want to miss the big picture. I don’t want to look back on my life and have regrets for things I didn’t do. I also started to think about being in a relationship again and all the things that come with it. And I have no clue if/when God will send me someone. But I do know that I am gonna be ok just being me if He doesn’t. That was a huge milestone for me. I know that there are so many things left for me to do ON MY OWN first. And then if my Prince Charming comes along we can conquer the world together. But until then…I am going to live happily ever after. No matter what. So I encourage you tonight to do that same. Live life, enjoy life, pursue happiness, pursue Jesus, and live happily ever after!

Leave a Reply

