It’s For Our Own Good

How many times have we heard that phrase before? I remember my parents telling me that quite often when I was growing up. 

I just finished Max Lucado’s new book, “You’ll Get Through This.” I highly recommend it. It was an awesome read. I am learning a lot about what’s “good” for me and that my struggles are actually not a BAD thing in the end. 

Romans 8:28 comes to mind, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” 

In the midst of all my “struggles” this year, (and I sound like my life has been horrible and it has not been nearly as bad as what others have suffered, but for me, my world was rocked in a lot of ways), many people have mentioned this verse or have said things in passing a long the same lines. And at some point it actually gets very annoying. I have been saved for almost 25 years and my relationship with Jesus is strong. I know that He will get me through whatever crap I am dealing with in His timing. But sometimes you want to be mad, sad, cry, yell, and be pissed. Just to be honest. I went through and still continue to go through all of these emotions. And I am thankful I have bc I don’t want to carry around excess baggage with me. It’s not fun and not worth it. 

Back to Max’s new book, He took the story of Joseph and broke it down. Joseph went to hell and back a few times in his day. But look at what God did for him. Look at all he was able to do and accomplish bc of his struggles. Max says, ” The story of Joseph is in the Bible for this reason: to teach you to trust God to trump evil. What Satan intends for evil, God, redeems for good.” WOW! When I am at  my lowest, God wants me to reach for Him so He can get me through. Nothing is too big or too much for God. Nothing. Don’t waste your life bc you find yourself in the pit right now. Don’t do it.  You have a life to live and there is a world out there that needs YOUR love, YOUR gifts, YOUR talents, YOUR grace. Romans 11: 29 says, ” For God’s gifts and his call are irrevocable.” I get chills typing that. The gifts he has given you and the call he has on your life are irrevocable and he will do whatever it takes to get you there. Even in the pit. No matter what you or I are facing right now we will make it through. God never breaks a promise. That’s so reassuring in a world where promises are broken everyday. Thankfully God doesn’t go off of emotions. He is with us no matter what. Good times and bad. Just get used to it. He will never leave you or forsake you. EVER. I am learning it’s ok to be mad. Even at God. I would rather be mad, shaking my first, yelling, and screaming at him then turning my back on him. We all throw some tantrums every now and then and it’s nothing the good Lord hasn’t seen before. But take it too him. Tell him how you feel. He wants to know. He wants our hearts. He doesn’t want us to hide or run or quit. He wants us to come lay it at his feet. Pray and seek him. Matthew 6:33 says, “But seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.” Seek and ye shall find. It may not be in our timing. We want things NOW and that is not how God works. Let me just tell ya. I wish things happened right now but in the end I am thankful he takes his time. It’s in the waiting that I draw close to him. It’s in the waiting that I hear his voice, and it’s in the waiting that I grow. At the end of the day I want to be like Joseph. Through the trials and tribulations he faced he always did what pleased God. Always. And you can never go wrong doing what is right in the eyes of the Lord. Never. I hope and pray for you that no matter what you may be facing today that you lean on Him. That you talk to him. That you realize God’s timing is perfect.  And I (you) will get through this. 

Leave a Reply

