Eyes Wide Open

For years I felt led to be in the “ministry.” I felt this was either going to be in the form of working for a church or being a missionary in some foreign country God led me too. I struggled for so long wanting so much to do these things and somehow I always ended up on the wrong path. So I thought to myself.

I have been a cosmetologist for almost 9 years now. I’ve had my struggles with finances while trying to build a clientele. I’ve worked 4 jobs at one time just trying to get by. Wearing myself thin and exhausting myself until I wasn’t good for anyone. Still wondering when I would get my chance to be in the “ministry.”

Then one day, I am not really sure how it happened to be honest, I woke up realizing that I get to be in the “ministry” everyday of my life. It may not be how I thought or envisioned but it’s exactly how God envisioned. It was a huge eye opening experience for  me. Daily I get to be creative and help others with their inner and outer beauty. Every girl knows that if you hate your hair you hate your day! That’s just how it goes. And I have the awesome opportunity to love, encourage, and beautify from the inside out. Once I realized this, it made my life SO much richer. I enjoyed going to work everyday and building relationships with people. It’s not just  a “job” anymore. I don’t do this for the money. I do this bc I have been blessed with a talent that helps others feel better about themselves.

A little over a year ago I had the opportunity to work at a different salon. Here I can have the freedom to run my own specials and deals, and help those in need. It has been an amazing year. Being able to offer Free Service Days or Free Services when someone is in need has been such a blessing. I have met some amazing people who have truly touched my life. And being able to help those guests of mine that I have had for a while has been great. In recent months, I have had a lot of positive feedback from my guests. Via Facebook, emails, cards. I have been so encouraged and uplifted and reaffirmed that I am in the right place doing the right things. It means a lot.

A few weeks ago a guest of mine wanted to bring in a child from her class at school. She was being bullied and really needed a pick me up. Her mother is ill, her father is busy taking care of her mentally challenged sibling and there hasn’t been a lot of time for her. So Friday I had the chance to meet her and to give her a cute cut with some great tips on how to take care of her hair on her own. My guest was able to purchase her a new hairdryer and  a product with the money she saved from the free haircut. We took before and after photos and she was so excited! My guest later messaged me and told me her favorite part was the hair salon. It brought tears to my eyes. I am so thankful my guests call on me in these times and I am so glad I am able to help.

So ya see…I am in ministry everyday. It doesn’t come in the form of being on staff at a church or being a missionary in a far away land. It comes in the form of helping those around me in need everyday. Whether it be a pick me up hair service, a counseling session, or a free service. I am beyond blessed as I say so often in my blogs…

36506_10151292376284764_148469891_n 163365_10151292376409764_1461013181_n

Leave a Reply

